First steam release campaign playthroughs

Moderators: Nacho84, N_Molson

Sabratha
SPM Contributor
SPM Contributor

First steam release campaign playthroughs

Post by Sabratha »

Hi,

As some of you might know, I'm a bit of a veteran with this title. This is the 1st time I'm playing the USA and Soviet competitive campaigns. Still, while some stuff has changed, most of the strategies I developed before in sandbox campaigns remain valid.

My NASA campaign ended with an apollo classic moon landing in Q1.1969. I did have some non-critical mission failures, but even without those I doubt I'd be abel to pull this off before Q2.1968 at best.

USSR PO was mostly a no-show in this campaign, they lagged at least 1 year behind me in everything except moon probes for the early part of the game. They never offered anything remotely resembling a moon attempt.

My 1st satellite was launched on Q4.1957. Theirs was Q1.1958. The gap grew from there.
My man in space = Q4.1959. Theirs = Q1.1962
My man in orbit = Q1.1961. Theirs = Q1.1963
My spacewalk Q2.1965. They never made it.
My apollo manned space flight = Q2.1967 Their soyuz flight = Q3.1968
My manned lunar pass = Q3.1967. they never made it.
My lunar landing = Q1.1969. They never made it.

So yeah, soviet PO not just performed worse than I did, it performed worse than RL soviets. Fun fact: they opened a apaceplane program and completed it, guess that turned out to be a dead end for them tho.

Now my playthrough as the USSR. I landed on the moon at the whooping date of Q2.1967. Lyndon Johnsons is still the president. Biafra has just declared independance. The six day war has not yet happened. The Tet offensive is almost a year away. Pulsars have not yet been discovered... and here we have a soviet flag on the moon. I found the possibility of such an early date, even in normal mode, to be quite historically implausible.

BTW, I used the UR-700 method.