Using GW's LOTR minatures...

This is a forum for discussing the use of the Field of Glory gaming system to play fantasy battles. This is not an official product! yet ;)

Moderators: terrys, Slitherine Core

Herr77
Private First Class - Opel Blitz

Using GW's LOTR minatures...

Post by Herr77 »

Hey everyone,

I'm new to FOG. I'm trying to work out how to play Middle Earth FOG with my current collection of Games Workshop's War of the Ring miniatures.

The main problem I'm having right now is working out how to base the armies properly. The round bases they're all stuck on are the issue. The miniatures don't really seem to fit very well onto a 60mm frontge base. You can fit up to 2 infantry on a base which looks OK, but isn't really ideal. But theres no way you can fit more than one cavalry miniature onto a 60mm base, because they're stuck on 40mm round bases, unless you increase the depth rather than the frontage, but then they're not going to conform to the base sizes in the rules...

Whats everyone doing to overcome these basing issues?

Anyone have any pictures of a LOTR army bases for FOG?
Ranimiro
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G

Post by Ranimiro »

You should be thinking in UNITS instead of bases.

A 2 base width unit has a frontage of 120 mm. So you can fit 3 cavalry models there (with your current basing system) And between 5 and 6 infantry (with 25mm or 20 mm basing). SO if you limit yourself and your opponents to 2 or 4 base width units for FoG you shouldn´t have a serious problem.

Seriously... ROUND, INDIVIDUAL bases for a strategic game with massed infantry like War of The Ring? GW has done it againg... I thought they had moved forward and where using a more adequate basing system
Herr77

Post by Herr77 »

Thanks for the response Ranimiro.