Units not moving on campain map

PC : Turn based Empire building in the ancient Near East.

Moderator: Slitherine Core

Post Reply
Delle
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 7:24 pm

Units not moving on campain map

Post by Delle » Sun Jul 26, 2015 7:30 pm

Hello!
I have enjoyed playing CoW for years, so today I bought the game since the copy I used to play got lost.
I'm now playing on a different computer with windows 8 and I can't seem to get the units to move on the campain map at all. I assign them to where I want them to go, and nothing happens, the hourglass comes on and the game freezes. Anyone else who has experienced this?

I really hope this can be fixed so I once again can enjoy a truly amazing game which I have not seen the like of since.

/Delle

Delle
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 7:24 pm

Re: Units not moving on campain map

Post by Delle » Sun Jul 26, 2015 10:50 pm

I have installed the extra 1.21 or something like that as said in another post. This does not fix the problem...

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 7779
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Units not moving on campain map

Post by VPaulus » Mon Jul 27, 2015 3:17 pm

Have you run the patched exe as an administrator?

Open the game installation folder. Locate and select a file named CoW_1.2.1.exe. Press the right mouse button and select Properties. Click on the Compatibility tab. Tick the option Run this program as an administrator. Click on Apply and Ok. Double click on CoW_1.2.1.exe for running the game.

Delle
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 7:24 pm

Re: Units not moving on campain map

Post by Delle » Mon Jul 27, 2015 3:52 pm

Just did as instructed, no luck unfortunately. Any other ideas?
Thank you for the quick reply, I must say, really impressive!

Best regards
/Delle

JosephM
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 224
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:17 am

Re: Units not moving on campain map

Post by JosephM » Tue Jul 28, 2015 10:00 am

Hello Delle,

Is the game currently installed to Program Files? If so, please can you try uninstalling the game and reinstall to a folder outside of C:\\Program file, e.g. to C:\\Slitherine and see if the issue persists.

Delle
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 7:24 pm

Re: Units not moving on campain map

Post by Delle » Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:02 pm

Joe Miller!!

My savior and hero. A true legend and an inspiration to us all! Thank you, that did the trick! I am very grateful for your help, as well as I am for yours VPaulus, thank you both very very much!

Best regards
/Delle

Eviljocker07
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 6:32 pm

Re: Units not moving on campain map

Post by Eviljocker07 » Sat Oct 28, 2017 6:40 pm

Hello !

I have the same problem. But change the game folder name or its location do not solve the issue.

Can you help me please ?

Cheers

Eviljocker07.

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 7779
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Units not moving on campain map

Post by VPaulus » Sun Oct 29, 2017 2:29 pm

Try the following:
Open the folder where you've installed the game. Locate and select a file named “CoW.exe".
Press the right mouse button and select "Properties". Click on the "Compatibility" tab.
Tick the option "Run this program as an administrator".
Click on "Apply" and "Ok". Double click on "CoW.exe" to run the program.

If the issue persists, then I'm afraid I'm out of ideas.

Eviljocker07
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 6:32 pm

Re: Units not moving on campain map

Post by Eviljocker07 » Sun Oct 29, 2017 2:57 pm

Thanks for your help, but the problem is still there.

If you or other have something to purpose, don't hesitate.

If not, is it possible to be refunded ?

Eviljocker07.

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 13928
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Units not moving on campain map

Post by zakblood » Sat Nov 04, 2017 7:49 pm

have you asked for a support ticket?

as we are here to support, if you still are having an issue with the game, please open a new tech support posts with a report of your pc thanks,.

How to get a DirectX Diagnostic file:

1. click on "START"
2. click "run"
3. type in "dxdiag" and click "OK"
4. check through the tabs and perform all tests
5. click "Save all Information..." and save the text file to a location of your choice

We prefer that DxDiag files be posted as message attachments rather than pasted into the body of the post.

once the report has been made, just attach it to your post with first adding the file to a zip, which is then permitted to attach to the forum

and we will try and look a bit deeper and see if it's something we can fix or sort out for you, unless it's a hardware or software issue on your end, which we hopefully will be able to tell with a report or more information asked etc...

Post Reply

Return to “Chariots of War”