game freezes

Moderators: Slitherine Core, Gothic Labs

Post Reply
caranorn1
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 7:39 am

game freezes

Post by caranorn1 » Sat Aug 04, 2018 2:00 pm

Hello,

I just got Sovereignty and it seems to be an interesting game.

But so far I've had the game freeze repeatedly in battle. The latest several attempts I end up with a zoomed in version of the strategic map with no apparent way to get back to the battle or interact with the game in any way. Last thing I did (in my latest attempt) was conduct a melee attack on an enemy unit (was destroyed). As I tried to select the next unit to conduct combat with the game switched to the zoomed in strategic map and froze.

caranorn1
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 7:39 am

Re: game freezes

Post by caranorn1 » Sat Aug 04, 2018 2:00 pm

Can't seem to attach a screenshot of the frozen game. Expect that's due to my low post count...

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 13430
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: game freezes

Post by zakblood » Sat Aug 04, 2018 2:10 pm

add it to a zip if it won't attach and i'll add it for you

and while your at it, add a report as well, as it does help, and welcome to the forum and sorry about your issues

How to get a DirectX Diagnostic file:

1. click on "START"
2. click "run"
3. type in "dxdiag" and click "OK"
4. check through the tabs and perform all tests
5. click "Save all Information..." and save the text file to a location of your choice

We prefer that DxDiag files be posted as message attachments rather than pasted into the body of the post.

once the report has been made, just attach it to your post with first adding the file to a zip, which is then permitted to attach to the forum

caranorn1
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 7:39 am

Re: game freezes

Post by caranorn1 » Sat Aug 04, 2018 2:58 pm

Okay another try, the screenshot and the dxdiag file...

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 13430
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: game freezes

Post by zakblood » Sat Aug 04, 2018 3:18 pm

once you have made a post, then submit the post or use the full editor and functions

if you press submit, then edit the post and then add the files and upload, then place the uploaded file on the post and press submit and your done
Untitled.jpg
Untitled.jpg (46.55 KiB) Viewed 115 times
1.jpg
1.jpg (118.38 KiB) Viewed 115 times

caranorn1
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 7:39 am

Re: game freezes

Post by caranorn1 » Sat Aug 04, 2018 3:43 pm

I think I know what the problem was, had saved the screenshot as .png and the file size might have exceeded what the forum accepts.

New try
sovereignt_bug.zip
(71.82 KiB) Downloaded 8 times

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 13430
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: game freezes

Post by zakblood » Sat Aug 04, 2018 4:40 pm

ok attached, but not very clear to see what's up tbh, so will check your report now
sovereignty_bug.jpg
sovereignty_bug.jpg (132.63 KiB) Viewed 105 times

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 13430
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: game freezes

Post by zakblood » Sat Aug 04, 2018 4:47 pm

Windows 10 Home 64-bit (10.0, Build 17134) (17134.rs4_release.180410-1804)
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7500U CPU @ 2.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.9GHz
Memory: 16384MB RAM
Card name: Intel(R) HD Graphics 620
Display Memory: 8254 MB
Dedicated Memory: 128 MB
Shared Memory: 8126 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)

Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: unknown
Monitor Id: CMN1738 (means this is the one your using as default)
Native Mode: 1920 x 1080(p) (60.008Hz)

Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 940MX
needs updating once it's been made the default one to use
Display Memory: 10147 MB
Dedicated Memory: 2020 MB
Shared Memory: 8126 MB
Driver Date/Size: 30/10/2017 which are out of date, but doesn't matter as no screen / monitor attached

Realtek Audio

16/05/2017 again also out of date, so will so you where the latest is

Drive: C:
Free Space: 1.5 GB Free Space: 1.5 GB too small you will need to free up some free space or windows will be so slow and sluggish
Total Space: 107.2 GB
File System: NTFS
Model: SanDisk X400 M.2 2280 128GB

Drive: D:
Free Space: 712.4 GB
Total Space: 953.7 GB
File System: NTFS
Model: ST1000LM035-1RK172

Drive: F:
Free Space: 1701.5 GB
Total Space: 2861.6 GB
File System: NTFS
Model: WD Elements 10B8 USB Device
realtec.jpg
realtec.jpg (258.51 KiB) Viewed 104 times
how to free up some space on C

Code: Select all

https://www.cnet.com/uk/how-to/how-to-delete-the-windows-old-folder-from-windows-10/
how to use the correct GPU for the game

Code: Select all

https://www.techadvisor.co.uk/how-to/pc-components/how-set-default-graphics-card-3612668/
good luck and hope you get it sorted asap

caranorn1
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 7:39 am

Re: game freezes

Post by caranorn1 » Sat Aug 04, 2018 6:51 pm

Thanks for the help. Managed to free up some space on my ststem drive (25GB free now) and updated the drivers. But now I'm having other issues. Will try to deinstall and reinstall now, maybe something got corrupted...

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 13430
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: game freezes

Post by zakblood » Sat Aug 04, 2018 6:54 pm

did you alter the to the Nvidia card and do the driver update, if so re upload the dx report and again i'll take a look for you

caranorn1
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 7:39 am

Re: game freezes

Post by caranorn1 » Sat Aug 04, 2018 7:20 pm

DxDiag.zip
(16.56 KiB) Downloaded 6 times

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 13430
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: game freezes

Post by zakblood » Sat Aug 04, 2018 8:04 pm

your still using the wrong chip for GPU, and not the Nvidia one i mentioned that you have and is about X amount better and faster and has more Ram

Card name: Intel(R) HD Graphics 620
Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
Chip type: Intel(R) HD Graphics Family
DAC type: Internal
Device Type: Full Device (POST)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_5916&SUBSYS_07441028&REV_02
Device Status: 0180200A [DN_DRIVER_LOADED|DN_STARTED|DN_DISABLEABLE|DN_NT_ENUMERATOR|DN_NT_DRIVER]
Device Problem Code: No Problem
Driver Problem Code: Unknown
Display Memory: 8254 MB
Dedicated Memory: 128 MB
Shared Memory: 8126 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
HDR Support: Not Supported
Display Topology: Internal
Display Color Space: DXGI_COLOR_SPACE_RGB_FULL_G22_NONE_P709
Color Primaries: Red(0.646984,0.338391), Green(0.316906,0.614758), Blue(0.157727,0.044445), White Point(0.313977,0.329602)
Display Luminance: Min Luminance = 0.500000, Max Luminance = 270.000000, MaxFullFrameLuminance = 270.000000
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: unknown
Monitor Id: CMN1738

Native Mode: 1920 x 1080(p) (60.008Hz)
Output Type: Internal

and the Nvidia driver is also the same date Driver Date/Size: 31/03/2017 same as audio Date and Size: 16/05/2017

to use the correct card, you need to use this,

Code: Select all

https://www.techadvisor.co.uk/how-to/pc-components/how-set-default-graphics-card-3612668/

caranorn1
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 7:39 am

Re: game freezes

Post by caranorn1 » Sat Aug 04, 2018 8:23 pm

DxDiag.zip
(16.5 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
No idea how that driver got switched from the Nvidia in the first place. Think I got it now. At lest I had no crash or other problem in my latest tries...

And again, thanks a lot for your patience and help :-) ...

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 13430
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: game freezes

Post by zakblood » Sun Aug 05, 2018 4:16 am

no problem, that's why we are here, to help, glad your sorted and can now finally enjoy the game

Post Reply

Return to “Sovereignty: Tech Support”