Game crashes - can't play

Moderators: rbodleyscott, Slitherine Core, Gothic Labs

pantherboy
Tournament 3rd Place
Tournament 3rd Place

Game crashes - can't play

Post by pantherboy »

When I click the shortcut the menu appears. I then click "Play game" and the screen begins flashing. It goes from a black screen to showing my desktop back to black endlessly. With great difficulty I can close the game in the task bar after jumping through hoops and then receive the following message:

***Unhandled exception! ExpCode: 0xC0000005 ExpFlags:0 ExpAddress: 0x004E8BD2 Please report!

If I then try and start the game again it becomes impossible to stop the screen flashing and requires me to shutdown the computer. Restarting the computer and playing the game results in the above occurring and receipt of error message but trying to open it a second time requires shutting down the PC again.

This has been happening on and off since I started playing a month ago. It seems to rectify itself a day or two later. I've noted it happens after a forced update of windows 10 but this time there has been no update.

At a total loss!

Cheers,

Steve
zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017

Re: Game crashes - can't play

Post by zakblood »

more info needed,
How to get a DxDiag report file:

1. Click on "START" (on Windows 8 press “Windows key” and the “R” key at the same time)
2. Click "run" (skip this step on Windows 8 )
3. Type in "dxdiag" and click "OK"
4. Check through the tabs and perform all tests
5. Click "Save all Information..." and save the text file to a location of your choice

We prefer that DxDiag files be posted as message attachments (zip) rather than pasted into the body of the post.
add the exe of the game to your Anti Virus and firewall program, to make sure check the logs of these to see if it was one if any of them was to blame.