Data not matching in multiplayer

Tech support for Battle Academy 2

Moderators: Slitherine Core, BA Moderators

Post Reply
Epicouros
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 10:19 pm

Data not matching in multiplayer

Post by Epicouros » Mon Sep 29, 2014 1:12 am

Hi,

With the last turn (skirmish game) I received from my opponent (jcb 989) came an in-game message saying:

"The scripts or other data being used by your opponent do not match yours. You should contact the other player to ask why their data is different. It is recommended you abandon the game and report the issue on the forum."

So, I didn't abandon the game (yet), but I contacted my opponent via chat when sending my own turn and am reporting the issue here on the forum.
Does anyone have an idea what's going on?...

Thanks!

Tac2i
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:57 pm
Location: WV USA

Re: Data not matching in multiplayer

Post by Tac2i » Mon Sep 29, 2014 9:45 pm

One possibility is your opponent is trying to cheat. Another possibility is that he has in some way modded his game.

Galangalad
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:10 pm

Re: Data not matching in multiplayer

Post by Galangalad » Fri Oct 03, 2014 11:08 am

This is a cheat message. The person was trying to reload the data and redo the moves because he might have not liked the outcome of the first run-through or redo the moves or whatever.

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13431
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Re: Data not matching in multiplayer

Post by IainMcNeil » Wed Oct 08, 2014 9:52 am

It does not mean cheating but that your files do not match. This happens if someone has modded their game. It could be used for cheating which is why we pop this message up, but in reality because of the message nobody does use it to cheat, so it is almost certainly just someone with a mod.

btek
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 4:17 pm

Re: Data not matching in multiplayer

Post by btek » Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:46 pm

Galangalad wrote:This is a cheat message. The person was trying to reload the data and redo the moves because he might have not liked the outcome of the first run-through or redo the moves or whatever.
I have seen this message once at the beginning of a game.

I have also inadvertently come across a multiplayer game exploit. BA2 shut down during a move (due to unrelated computer problem). I ended up redoing the move, already knowing some of the likely outcomes. My decision was to still take the same actions in order to be fair.

I have no intent to use this expoit, but wouldn't want it used against me either.

Would the message discussed above (or any other warning message) be generated mid-game in a case when someone is trying to take advantage of this particular cheat?

Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”