No auto-save?

Hell is a turn-based tactical skirmish strategy game developed by award winning developer Hunted Cow in partnership with Slitherine.

Moderator: Slitherine Core

Tridenz0
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA

No auto-save?

Post by Tridenz0 »

Hello, I am just learning the game, and was on mission 1 of the Gilrand campaign when the program froze. I had to force close it, and expected the program would have auto-saved after the last completed turn. Instead I lost all of my progress on the mission and had to start over. Is there no auto-save in this game so that you can restore to the last completed turn if you experience a crash? If not, this seems like an easy and useful feature to implement. Thanks for considering it.
pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: No auto-save?

Post by pipfromslitherine »

The game doesn't save after each turn no. What platform are you running the game on? Obviously we don't expect the game to crash at all :)

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here
Tridenz0

Post by Tridenz0 »

Running on Windows 8.1. I noticed slow-down and stuttering, both of graphics and of music for about 2 minutes before the crash. Is there a reason why an auto-save feature wouldn't be implemented? Seems like it would be a simple and inexpensive way to avoid some frustration on the part of users. My time is already very limited, so having a game I've got 45 minutes into crash is a night wasted. :)
pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin

It's not something we have seen a need for - the engine is pretty stable and so crashes are a fairly rare occurrence. What kind of system are you running on? Stutter of the music tends to imply that your machine is becoming CPU limited in some way.

Cheers

Pip
Tridenz0

Post by Tridenz0 »

It's a Lenovo Thinkpad T530, Intel Core i5-3360M @ 2.8Ghz, 16GB RAM. It's also got Intel/Nvidia Optimus video. I'm able to run games that are much more graphically and computationally intensive without a problem.
pipfromslitherine