Very Difficult

Hell is a turn-based tactical skirmish strategy game developed by award winning developer Hunted Cow in partnership with Slitherine.

Moderator: Slitherine Core

Munkie
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz

Very Difficult

Post by Munkie »

I really like the game however I am having a Hell'uva a time with the first scenario in the campaign. I am sending units forward in groups with crossbow support plunking at enemies, but then I am overrun regardless of support positions.

I do take in to account using terrain however there isn't a height advantage in this first scenario. I have the game set to normal, so I would like some tips. I am not a newbie to TBS games, so this is a bit disheartening to begin the game with.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.
zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017

Re: Very Difficult

Post by zakblood »

have you done the tutorials?
radneto
Hunted Cow
Hunted Cow

Post by radneto »

I think the game can be quite challenging for new players, stick with it, it's really fun once you get the tactics worked out. Charge with your spearmen, try and move your men at arms into supporting positions and shoot with the crossbows.
John Stewart
Hunted Cow Studios LTD.
Magnum50
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf

Post by Magnum50 »

I came here for the same reason... I got slaughtered in the first mission, and don't understand why...I am usually very tactically efficient in these games, playing and loving the hell out of both BA1 and 2... I know to use my strong close combat units to protect the range units and mages, and I know how to use combine arms, and proper flanking movements... like I said, with some tanks and infantry I do quite well especially against AI... but HELL is brutal.