Enemy (AI) Commanders

Order of Battle is a series of operational WW2 games starting with the Pacific War and then on to Europe!

Moderators: The Artistocrats, Order of Battle Moderators

Alexander1
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38

Enemy (AI) Commanders

Post by Alexander1 »

1) Does AI have ability to have Commanders?

2) Also is AI able to see player's commanders and prioritize targeting of these units?
bru888
Order of Battle Moderator

Re: Enemy (AI) Commanders

Post by bru888 »

Alexander1 wrote:1) Does AI have ability to have Commanders?

2) Also is AI able to see player's commanders and prioritize targeting of these units?
I'm no expert but I will say that these are two very good questions.

My educated guess is that the AI does NOT enjoy the use of commanders. I have never seen any evidence of this in the game and I would doubt that it would be so and not shown somehow during game play.

My even less educated guess is that the AI does NOT target units with commanders. I have never seen any evidence of this, either.

I'd welcome further, more educated commentary, however.
- Bru
GabeKnight
Lieutenant-General - Karl-Gerat 040

Post by GabeKnight »

I've seen something like this more than once, I think:
Screenshot 23.jpg
Screenshot 23.jpg (455.25 KiB) Viewed 2332 times
It's the general inside a recon unit (Chongquinq scenario, Morning Sun DLC), but I don't know if he has a sphere of influence or even some attack/defensive value changes..
bru888

Post by bru888 »

Ah yes, very good. I forgot about that capability in scenario designing (I've done so myself in my own scenarios :oops: ). But your last sentence was what I was focused on; that is, I don't think the AI enjoys the benefits of such leaders and commanders as does the human player. For example, has anyone seen an "influence" grid around such a commander assigned to an AI unit? Whenever I assigned one in my scenarios, it was for dramatic effect and not to bestow additional benefits to the AI.