Crazy glitch in current PBEM game using 4.029

PSP/DS/PC/MAC : WWII turn based grand strategy game

Moderators: firepowerjohan, rkr1958, Happycat, Slitherine Core

Post Reply
GeneralButtercup82
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 10:06 pm

Crazy glitch in current PBEM game using 4.029

Post by GeneralButtercup82 » Thu Aug 16, 2018 3:54 pm

Starting in November 1943 our game started reporting odd events. The situation: Axis has conquered all of Africa and Middle East, is pushing up the Caucasus coast. The glitch started with a report at the end of an Axis turn that both Egypt and Iraq had joined the Allies! And that Churchill was rushing new forces to the Med. Nothing happened but when the next Axis turn started it reported that Egypt and Iraq had surrendered and then, two War Event screens later they both joined the Allies again!

Now we are in January 1944 and suddenly 4 UK Inf and 4 BBs showed up in Egypt - spawning in Port Said, Suez and two more by Suez while the BBs are in the Red Sea. Interestingly the 4 Inf are two pairs - two 2nd New Zealand and two 8th Australian.

Just started the Feb 7, 1944 turn, both countries surrendered, both joined the Allies again and 2 more BBs have popped into the Red Sea for a total of 6!

The Allied player has agreed to not move these units and the Axis will simply ignore them too so we are good, so far.

Has anyone else reported such an odd glitch?
Your Turn,
General Buttercup
generalbuttercup82@gmail.com

fangotango
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 2:39 pm

Re: Crazy glitch in current PBEM game using 4.029

Post by fangotango » Fri Aug 17, 2018 8:46 am

I ran into the same thing while familiarizing myself with the new version (final 4.0 version) by playing the AI. If you eliminate the British units, they just come back the next turn, and always doubled.

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4692
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Crazy glitch in current PBEM game using 4.029

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Tue Aug 21, 2018 12:02 am

I can you try with this version of game.class

https://www.dropbox.com/s/dnibuqrh5k2kp ... class?dl=0

Download the file and place it in the game folder under the main folder. Take a backup of your old game.class first. Then rerun a turn where you have the issue and check if it disappears now.

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4692
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Crazy glitch in current PBEM game using 4.029

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Tue Aug 21, 2018 12:06 am

This issue only seems to happen when both Iraq and Egypt (which represents the British protectorate consisting of Egypt, Palestine, Trans-Jordan and Kuwait) are conquered.

Iraq is conquered when Baghdad and Basra are captured. Egypt is conquered when Cairo and Kuwait are conquered. So it's very rare this situation can occur.

There was a test for German units in Libya to activate Egypt which would activate Iraq if Iraq was not active.

However, that is only supposed to happen when neither of the countries are at war and not conquered, i. e. when they are neutral. I added code to check that neither of the countries are conquered.

Post Reply

Return to “MILITARY HISTORY™ Commander - Europe at War : General Discussion”