Fog of war?

Team Assault is a 3D turn based tactical game where players fight in close combat action at a squad level.

Moderators: Slitherine Core, Team Assault Design, Zeal

rich12545
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF

Fog of war?

Post by rich12545 »

Of course I'm just learning the game so this will be a very newbie question.

I assume the game has fow? But just getting into the game to see how the mechanics work I could see the enemy's blue dots and the enemy itself even though they're clear across the map. So how does this all work?
Lillarpy
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer

Re: Fog of war?

Post by Lillarpy »

rich12545 wrote:Of course I'm just learning the game so this will be a very newbie question.

I assume the game has fow? But just getting into the game to see how the mechanics work I could see the enemy's blue dots and the enemy itself even though they're clear across the map. So how does this all work?
All soldiers in Team Assault have unlimited with sight. So as long as there are no obstacles your enemies can stand behind you can see them! :)
Laxen
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2

Post by Laxen »

Yup, as Lillarpy said. We do not have FoW in the form as in many other games (a circle around your units, and that's how far they can see). Instead we only veil areas that are directly obstructed in fog of war - if you can draw line of sight to an area from any of your soldiers, you'll be able to see that area.
Rasmus Davidsson
Lead Designer at ZEAL Game Studio
rich12545

Post by rich12545 »

This is pretty simplified gameplay but if the human and AI use the same rules it's ok. What it doesn't consider, though, is sneaking. Soldiers crawling through the grass type of thing. That might be difficult to implement because then you'd have to program the AI to use it at the proper times.
IronFist00
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC

Post by IronFist00 »