Combat Screen Detail

PC : Turn based WW2 goodness in the mold of Panzer General. This promises to be a true classic!

Moderators: Slitherine Core, Panzer Corps Moderators, Panzer Corps Design

Pat.Poison
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf

Combat Screen Detail

Post by Pat.Poison »

Hello,

I'm new to this forum and I'm new to this game and I hope, that you can help my with my problem. First of all, I want to say sorry for my bad english, but I'm from germany.

I've read some threads in this forum about the combat detail screen but I've still some questions and I really want to understand this game, becaus it reminds me of PG:

The left picture shows the prediction of the combat. Because of the difference of 1 in the effective initiatives, 20 % of my strength are not allowed to fight. In this case I have a strength of 10, so 2 units won't fight. You can see this result in the "Nicht unterdrückte Stärke" or unsuppressed strength.
In the combat detail screen after the combat, you can see that every unit has the amount of dices to roll equal to the unsuppressed strength. That makes sense. But there are some things not clear to me:

1) In the right picture (after the combat) the unsuppressed strength of my tank is 9. I know that because of the dice roll, there were 2 points added to the effective initiative, but the same goes for the enemy unit. In the end, the difference between our effective inititatives is still 1. So why do I have a unsuppressed strength of 9?

2) In the right picture you can see, that the chance to kill is 26 %. So I need at least a 75 to kill a unit (100 - 26 = 74 plus one to be higher). The only dice, which fulfills this condition is the first red one (90). Easy to understand. But when I look at the chance to suppress a unit (9 %), I think, I need at least a 92. But in this case this would mean that a surpression is also a kill and both of the blue dices are lower than 92. So how do I know, what I need to roll to suppress a unit?