Can a random skirmish map be loaded and edited for scenario?

Download scenarios and talk about scenario design.

Moderators: Slitherine Core, BA Moderators

Post Reply
jpinard
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 1:26 am

Can a random skirmish map be loaded and edited for scenario?

Post by jpinard » Tue Oct 25, 2016 12:15 am

Instead of creating an entire map from scratch it would be nice to use the skirmish settings to create a map and then edit it from there, placing the forces I'd like to be involved in it. Is this possible? Or possible within the scenario editor? Thanks!

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8719
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Can a random skirmish map be loaded and edited for scena

Post by pipfromslitherine » Tue Oct 25, 2016 3:34 pm

Yes - the random map plugin for the editor uses the same scripted logic as the skirmish map generation :) Just click the plugins button, then choose the random map plugin, and the UI will appear onscreen allowing you to generate as many maps as you like until you are happy with it :)

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

athineos
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 7:00 pm

Re: Can a random skirmish map be loaded and edited for scena

Post by athineos » Sat Dec 02, 2017 8:17 pm

Can you do this in both BA1 and BA2? Is it ok to install both BA1 & BA2 in the same computer? Can I then use the editor in BA2 and use units from BA1? (I assume the Editor in BA2 is bettter than BA1) Thanks

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8719
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Can a random skirmish map be loaded and edited for scena

Post by pipfromslitherine » Mon Dec 04, 2017 5:07 pm

The games cannot be used interchangably - skirmish maps from BA2 cannot be loaded into BA1. You can definitely install them both to one machine, but they are not inter-related.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

athineos
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 7:00 pm

Re: Can a random skirmish map be loaded and edited for scena

Post by athineos » Fri Jan 05, 2018 7:09 pm

pipfromslitherine wrote:Yes - the random map plugin for the editor uses the same scripted logic as the skirmish map generation :) Just click the plugins button, then choose the random map plugin, and the UI will appear onscreen allowing you to generate as many maps as you like until you are happy with it :)

Cheers

Pip
I cannot find the plugin button in BA1. Is there an update file that I can download and install it? thanks

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8719
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Can a random skirmish map be loaded and edited for scena

Post by pipfromslitherine » Mon Jan 08, 2018 4:34 pm

The list is accessed via the pliers/hammer button in the editor.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

athineos
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 7:00 pm

Re: Can a random skirmish map be loaded and edited for scena

Post by athineos » Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:23 pm

pipfromslitherine wrote:The list is accessed via the pliers/hammer button in the editor.

Cheers

Pip

I can find it in BA2 but not In BA1. Do you have any other suggestions?
Thanks

athineos
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 7:00 pm

Re: Can a random skirmish map be loaded and edited for scena

Post by athineos » Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:42 pm

What I meant to say is that I can find the pliers/hammer button in BA1 but There is no Random map plugin....

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8719
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Can a random skirmish map be loaded and edited for scena

Post by pipfromslitherine » Mon Jan 08, 2018 6:24 pm

You are correct - there is no random map plugin for BA1 - I was getting confused between the versions.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

Post Reply

Return to “Battle Academy : Scenario Design”